

REP/GA17/BVPD/10

Istanbul, 31 May 2010

SEVENTEENTH MEETING OF THE BSEC-URTA GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Hotel Radisson BLU Iveria, Tbilisi – GEORGIA Tuesday, 22 June 2010, at 10:00 hrs

STATE OF AFFAIRES RELATED WITH THE SIGNING AND RATIFICATION OF THE BSEC AGREEMENT ON SIMPLIFICATION OF VISA PROCEDURES FOR PROFESSIONAL LORRY DRIVERS NATIONALS OF BSEC MEMBER STATES

(Information Paper prepared by the BSEC-URTA International Secretariat)

Since the 16th Meeting of the BSEC-URTA General Assembly in Geneva on 4 November 2009 no additional BSEC Member State expressed its readiness to become signatory to the BSEC Agreement for Simplification of Visa Procedures for Professional Drivers Nationals of BSEC Member States.

On the occasion of several BSEC meetings, the International Secretariat addressed the representatives of Azerbaijan, Georgia and Serbia with the request for consideration of signing the abovementioned agreement.

At the same time, the concerned BSEC-URTA Member Associations have addressed their national competent authorities with a view to signing the agreement.

The International Secretariat have paid an informal visit to the General Consulate of Georgia in Istanbul and made a detailed presentation on the benefits for the Georgian road transport industry if Georgia will sign this important agreement.

The Consul General agreed to inform the Georgian Government about the BSEC-URTA request from Georgia to become signatory of the Agreement. The Consul General also decided to undertake GIRCA on this subject as soon as possible.

As of today, the status of the BSEC Member States as signatories to the BSEC Agreement for Simplification of Visa Procedures for Professional Drivers Nationals of the BSEC Member States is as follows:

Country	Signature	Date of deposit of instrument of ratification, approval or accession	Entry into Force	Reservations, Statements, objections
Albania	23 October 2008	1 March 2010	-	-
Armenia	23 October 2008		-	-
Azerbaijan			•	-
Bulgaria			ı	-
Georgia			1	-
Greece			-	-
Moldova	23 October 2008		•	-
Romania			-	-
Russia			-	-
Serbia	_		-	-
Turkey	23 October 2008	23 April 2009	-	-
Ukraine			-	-

* * *